18 Apr 2018: Force 47-103 Riders

BBL Championship
Leeds Force 47 – 103 Leicester Riders (14-23, 29-48, 38-83)

The already-crowned BBL Championship winners, Leicester Riders, turned in a typically dominant performance on the road at bottom-placed Leeds Force, winning 103-47.

Riders now hold eight wins in a row over Force, dating back two years, but fell short of their record winning-margin against this opposition, which stands at 64 points set in 2016.

Leading scorers – Sinani 15, Mourier 10, Williams 7 (Force); Hampton 14, Robertson 12, Tawiah 12 (Riders)

Turning point – It was a close start to the game until the teams were separated by a burst of 10 unanswered points from the visitors to close out the first quarter, JR Holder scoring consecutively to end that run at 23-14. The lead went through double-digits in the second as Tyler Bernardini scored five to cap another 11 points in a row, and Riders then clamped down on defence, allowing their hosts just 18 second half points.

Key stat – Riders looked after the ball and shot irrepressibly well. Just five turnovers meant that they took 29 more field goal attempts than Leeds, shooting 37% three-pointers and 68% inside, with Max Richardson a perfect 3/3 off the bench.

Game hero – All 12 of Leicester’s players registered on the scoresheet, led by Pierre Hampton’s 14 points in just 15 minutes. But Chris Tawiah was dominant with a double-double, scoring 12 points on 75% shooting, grabbing 16 rebounds and dishing five assists.

Box score.